Federal District Court in Alabama Strikes Down 12 State Legislative Districts on Remand

Alabama – A U.S. District Court panel invalidated a substantial portion of the Alabama state legislative district map after considering the racial gerrymandering challenge on remand from the U.S. Supreme Court.   


A total of 12 districts were found to be unconstitutional racial gerrymanders, 36 districts in total were challenged by plaintiffs however. One concurring judge would have invalidated all 36.  Read background on the Supreme Court decision remanding the case hereRead the opinion here.  Read coverage in the Philadelphia Tribune, the Montgomery Advertiser,  and the Election Law Blog.

The following districts were struck by the court:

Senate District 20 in Jefferson County

Senate District 26 in Montgomery County

Senate District 28 in Barbour, Bullock, Henry, Houston, Lee, Macon and Russell counties

House District 32 in Calhoun and Talladega counties

House District 53 in Madison County

House District 54 in Jefferson County

House District 70 in Tuscaloosa County

House District 71 in Choctaw, Greene, Marengo, Pickens, Sumter and Tuscaloosa counties

House District 77 in Montgomery County

House District 82 in Lee, Macon and Tallapoosa counties

House District 85 in Henry and Houston counties

House District 99 in Mobile County

Categories: Gerrymanders, LATEST, Lawsuits, Redistricting

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: